Totally Devoted

 Worship leaders find themselves extremely busy each week as they prepare for the Sunday services.  Song selection, finalizing keys and instrumentation, and rehearsals dominate the early part of the week.  As the week continues, we oversee projection, make final adjustments to our chord charts, rehearse some more, and communicate final details with the senior pastor as well as the members of our team.  We are so devoted to making the music as excellent as it can possibly be that I sometimes fear we forget to devote our hearts totally to the One to whom we are singing.  At least, I know I have been guilty in the past.

During the first 21 days of the New Year, my church has called its members around the world to a time of seeking and recommitment.  As part of this call, members were encouraged to participate in some sort of fast during this time.  Fasting, though not a popular topic or discipline, is an essential way of bringing our will in line with the will of the Father.  Fasting can be so much more than food…..and that was important for me to understand.  While I “knew” this fact to be true intellectually, I had never really participated in an extended fast.  

I don’t believe it is necessary to tell you how I fasted or how long I did it;  the point is not to proclaim my accomplishments.  The outcome of the fast in my life is much more important.  While I eliminated things from my life as a sacrifice of praise to my Father, He drew me to Himself and spoke directly to my heart through His Word and His Spirit.   I don’t think I will ever be the same again!  

Am I perfect?  Not by a long shot…..I’m still a work in progress…….but I am actively pursuing a life that will be more and more like Christ everyday.  Man’s opinion is mattering less and less to me; I want Him to find pleasure in my worship and my life.  And I’m taking comfort in the words found in Deuteronomy 31:6:  “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you.  He will not leave you or forsake you.”  Now THAT’S what I call a promise to depend on!

I’m looking forward to a wonderful day tomorrow filled with worship of my resurrected King!  I pray that you are blessed as you lead your congregation in worship and that all of our songs rise to the Father as sweet praise that His Spirit will inhabit. 

Kennith

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

