Musical Prelude

Do you remember the first Sunday you stood before a congregation to lead them in worship? Perhaps your hands begin to sweat again merely at the thought of that first experience. Have you ever wished that you knew then the many lessons you have learned since about worship, leadership, and music? I certainly have! That wish is what brought about this blog.

I first became involved with worship and music ministries as a child of ten. I had taken piano lessons for several years and found myself thrust behind a console piano and told to play. I knew nothing about chord progressions or improvising. All of my training had been classical in nature – if the notes weren’t written on the page, I didn’t know what to do. Despite my protests, I found myself sitting behind the piano on a Sunday morning and was simply told to “follow” the guitar’s lead (whatever THAT was supposed to mean)! Soon I found myself given the responsibility of leading the music for the congregation. How I wished that there was a manual of some sort to help me navigate this overwhelming and incredibly important ministry of the church. Sadly, I have not found a book that adequately addresses the many multi-faceted issues a music minister will face weekly. When I commented on this absence with a dear colleague recently, she challenged me to begin writing the missing volume. My solution is “Music for the Master”.

This blog is not intended to be the final statement on all things related to music ministry. If you have served in this position for any length of time, you know that our challenges morph regularly with changing musical styles, congregations and worship settings. We deal not only with issues related to music making; we also have to address issues related to theology, leadership, evangelism, and finances on a regular basis. Although I have been serving as a worship leader in either a volunteer or paid position for over 21 years, I do not pretend to have learned all the lessons needed for this massive job. My hope is that “Music for the Master” will become an active dialogue among those who currently serve as music ministers as well as those who sing or play at a local congregation and those who are simply passionate about worship ministry in our churches. Although my background is with the Church of God of Prophecy, I believe that many of the issues we will be discussing together will be applicable across denominational lines as we all pursue a single purpose: to better equip ourselves and our team to more effectively make “music for the Master!”

Take a few minutes and leave a brief introduction in the comment section below. Where are you serving currently? Are you the minister of music or do you hold another position? What is an issue you would like to see us discuss in the weeks and months to come? I’m looking forward to lively discussions, knowing that “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” (Proverbs 27:17, NIV)

Kennith

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

